Let’s Do Lunch by Roger Troy Wilson

Posted on Updated on

Eating all the carbs and calories you want to lose weight!
By Roger Troy Wilson

I was intrigued by this. Because I am 250+ lbs and I work in the television industry, I have heard of several weight loss, diet, exercise schemes including many from infomercials. This is a very sensitive subject for many, especially because of the challenge of weight loss and the many scammers out there. Now do I think Mr. Wilson is one of those scammers? No, he admittedly has plenty of money and the proceeds to the book go to charity. But this is what I think of his plan:

It is true we consume too many potato products, artificial sugars, processed foods, and desserts. Also, we eat too much dinner/snacks, and don’t eat enough breakfast or lunch. I like some of his suggestions for making fast food more healthy and health food more tasty too.  But, I don’t agree with the idea to completely remove all breads, rice, and potato products and replace them with beans, soy products, and ‘corn thins.’ Healthier alternatives like brown rice and balancing proportions more evenly would be just as helpful for weight loss in my opinion. There was a truth I heard from an infomercial once and that was something to the effect of: “Diets fail, because people don’t treat them as a longterm life style change…” I agree with this concept and I can definitely see certain traits in this diet I would backslide upon like eating lots of beans. Otherwise I was inspired by this book and plan to use several of his tips, suggestions, and recipes for my weight loss journey.

Book Rating: 3 out of 5 stars.

Disclaimer: Ben Umnus was given a free copy of this book by Thomas Nelson Publishing, but he was neither paid for his review nor was he commanded by Thomas Nelson Publishing to write a positive review. This review is the personal, written opinion of Ben Umnus.  This disclaimer is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One thought on “Let’s Do Lunch by Roger Troy Wilson

    Ben Umnus responded:
    August 18, 2010 at 10:55 AM

    Two things: One don’t try his suggestion to use pam olive oil spray on popcorn (page 42,56, 72, 117) I and several others thought this was nasty. And the other thing is my next book for review will be Max Lucado’s newest book,
    Outlive Your Life You Were Made to Make a Difference , which is coming out september 1st, so if you like Max Lucado I will write the review for his new book on September 10th exactly. :)

Leave a Reply

