Bittersweet by Shauna Niequist

Posted on Updated on

thoughts on change, grace, and learning the hard way Prior to reading this book I hadn’t heard of Shauna Niequist or her previous book Cold Tangerines, but I decided to give her new book a try anyway. I did some research and apparently Shauna is the daughter of Bill Hybels, the Senior Pastor of Willow Creek Community Church. I read Bittersweet, because I was curious about her thoughts, I was also curious about her writing style, and coincidentally I haven’t read many books written by women. To me reading Bittersweet was like reading a publicized diary.

Bittersweet is a look into Shauna’s personal life, her past, her pleasures and sorrows, her most precious moments, etc along with making life suggestions and giving encouragement to readers. Although I can’t relate to some subjects she wrote about like having a miscarriage, I enjoyed reading chapters like ‘say something’ and ‘twenty five’ as I learned a bit from her experiences. Of course a drawback in my opinion is since she is a Christian author and the daughter of a Mega Church Pastor, I would preferred to have read provisions of scripture in addition to her thoughts; especially whenever she mentioned moments in Biblical history and God. Overall this is a very deep, poetic book filled with many familiar emotions: happiness, anger, sadness, excitement, even envy. I liked reading this, just remember to compare it to scripture for it is wise to do this with any other book which has a Christian label.

 Book Rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

Disclaimer: Ben Umnus was given a free copy of this book by Zondervan Publishing, but he was neither paid for his review nor was he commanded by Zondervan Publishing to write a positive review. This review is the personal, written opinion of Ben Umnus.  This disclaimer is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

3 thoughts on “Bittersweet by Shauna Niequist

    Rosie Zichy-Woinarski said:
    January 18, 2012 at 9:46 AM

    Shauna Hybels Niequist should be honest, useful, smart, strong, intelligent, responsible, cool, healthy and she should learn how to write properly.

      Ben Umnus responded:
      January 18, 2012 at 10:21 AM

      I have not read any of her other books, but yeah I did get a new writer feel to it when I first read this.

    Natasha said:
    January 19, 2012 at 11:13 AM

    Me too, Ben. Life is Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

