The Secret Message in Legend of the Guardians

Posted on Updated on

Ok so on Tuesday I saw the movie Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’Hoole, and I have to say this was a decent movie! Now Legend of the Guardians is a kids movie about two, what I would guess teenager, owls who are trying to fly on their own while their parents are elsewhere and due to lack of experience/overly competitiveness the two owls fall to the ground. A wolverine tries to eat each owl, but then some other owls “rescue” them. Turns out these other owls are not actually good owls, but rather they are evil owls apart of an evil owl empire known as “The Pure ones.” Anyway to make a long story short, the Pure Ones have been Owlnapping many other younger owls in order to build up their ranks and to brainwash them into being loyal to the empire. Soren, the main character, decides what the “Pure Ones” want his brother Kludd and him to become is a bad idea, but his brother embraces the Purist ideals (a good part of it due to jealousy of his brother.) The main Owl decides to run away, along with another owl, from the evil lair and to warn the guardians of “Ga’Hoole” about the reemergence of their enemy Metal Beak and to stop the evil going on within the Pure Ones. I found the 3d animation, the acting, and the plot to be great and I recommend this movie to others as well. What I thought was incredibly interesting was what were the ideals of the Pure Ones. I have yet to hear a peep about this, nor did my friends watching beside me seem to notice this, but the Pure Ones were promoting social Darwinism…

I recommend anyone who reads this entry today to do some research on social Darwinism and Eugenics, or at the very least watch the documentary What Hath Darwin Wrought for more information on the subject (I own this DVD if anyone who knows me would like to watch.) Now obviously, they didn’t speak about the biological aspects of Charles Darwin’s theory I get that, especially because this was a fictional kids movie, but if one truly believes in the biological aspects of Darwinian Evolution then one must also support social Darwinist ideas like “Survival of the fittest”, “The strong must dominate the weak”, “it is ok to kill/take advantage of those who are weaker or less useful for society”, and “the weak must be weeded out of society for there to be a proper order” all which were “Pure One” ideals too… I thought that was very interesting and at the same time I thought it was a necessary message for kids to learn, especially because I doubt many kids and adults know much about social Darwinism and Eugenics; I certainly didn’t until recently. (especially the historical applications in Europe and the US.) I don’t know if the author behind the book, which inspired the movie, was purposely out against Social Darwinism or if this is my own revelation, but nevertheless I am glad this movie was made and I hope others notice this too.There is a lot of things which could be said about social Darwinism that would take too much time to write/read about, but a big reason for me being opposed to social Darwinism is that morals cease  to exist… A very good question I stumbled upon online is “Where do morals come from if there is no God?”

3 thoughts on “The Secret Message in Legend of the Guardians

    Dustin W said:
    October 7, 2010 at 12:11 PM

    What no comments about the children armies?

      Ben Umnus responded:
      October 7, 2010 at 12:14 PM

      Well duh I’m against that too lol.

    lwoolum said:
    November 7, 2014 at 8:21 PM

    That’s all you got out of it?

    First of all the situation with the “owl-napping” is a great illustration of the horrors of human trafficking and a great conversation starter for older kids.

    Second of all, the “mission” of the guardians is way more exciting than the revelation of the movie’s disapproval of social Darwonism themes. Did you hear them say it? They said it three times throughout the film and it couldn’t be a better description of Jesus’s mission if they were trying:

    “To make strong the weak, to mend the broken and to vanquish evil.”

Leave a Reply

