The Nativity Collection By Robert Morgan

Posted on Updated on

By Robert Morgan

The Nativity Collection is a book filled with 6 unique, short stories. As one could imagine, all of the stories are related to Christmas. The short story “Ollie” is about a family’s wonderful Christmas dinner with an elderly woman who mistakenly took their car. “Poet Boy” is about a man who is cast in his Aunt’s Christmas play, but he is forced to improvise  when he forgets his lines. “Over My Dead Body” is about a wood-carver, famous for carving Swiss lamb figurines, who learns about the lamb of God. The Short story “Five Quarters of a Mile” is about a grandpa and grandson who are trapped at their cabin lot due to a storm closing the roads for the night. “Nativity Seen Smiling” is about a Newlywed couple whose marriage doesn’t start out so blissfully. And “Sugarplum and the Christmas Cradle” is about a husband who carves his wife a cradle for their expected firstborn.

I found it interesting that most of these short stories were related to wood, with exception to “Ollie” and “Poet Boy”. I loved how each story seemed to tie in Christ and or the Nativity scene, in fact I recommend reading Luke 2:1-20 or Matthew 1:18-25 for the birth story of Jesus Christ after all he is the “Christ” in the word “Christmas.” I would have to say my favorite story was “Ollie”, because it had a great sense of the Holiday season, I am half German so I was able to relate to the old woman, and the story made me laugh too. I also enjoyed reading “Five Quarters of a mile”, I loved the ending to that story. Though, I wasn’t so big of a fan for the short story “Poet Boy”, but then again I’m not much of a poetry fan. Overall, I thought the stories were decent and I loved the art work too.

Book Rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

Disclaimer: Ben Umnus was given a free copy of this book by Thomas Nelson Publishing, but he was neither paid for his review nor was he commanded by Thomas Nelson Publishing to write a positive review. This review is the personal, written opinion of Ben Umnus.  This disclaimer is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

