The Walk by Shaun Alexander

Posted on Updated on

Clear Direction and Spiritual Power for Your Life
by Shaun Alexander

I wasn’t much of a football fan really until my Dad needed my help with his Fantasy Football team almost 5 years ago; ever since I watch the game occasionally. I decided to read The Walk, because of my curiosity with Shaun Alexander’s former NFL career as a running back for the Seattle Seahawks and I was also curious about his Christian views. Although Shaun does talk about his football career and his childhood, The Walk is neither a football epic nor is it solely an autobiography. I would argue this is a spiritual book meant for those who are either ‘baby’ Christians or those who are a bit more experienced in the faith.

Shaun Alexander talks about what he feels are the spiritual stages Christians go through, he also speaks of the many traps and trials within those stages, he educates readers away from trying to be perfect and simply to be obedient to God’s word whenever possible, he warns of Satan’s many deceptions, several times he refers to scriptural passages for reference,  he also refers to the experiences of different men of the Bible like Elijah and Peter, and as I mentioned earlier he also speaks about his early experiences and his football career. My favorite section was what he called ‘the example’ stage, because it was very inspiring and caused me to become aware of something I’ve been neglecting.

And yet I felt the beginning of this book had a bit of a slow start. I also question the validity of an experience Mr Alexander referred to in which Heidi Baker from Iris Ministries influenced another woman to lay hands on her dead husband and ’caused’ him to be raised from the dead; see from the bottom of page 158 through to page 160 in the Imparter stage section.  Though it is possible for people to rise from the dead, for God allowed Elisha and Peter to raise people from the dead in 2 Kings 4:8-37 and Acts 9:36-43, I question certain experiences such as these partially because when I hear of them I often think of frauds like Benny Hinn and Peter Popoff; though I hope this instance was not fraudulent. My final concern is that even though I do agree each believer in Christ has their own struggles and have different stages in their lives, I fear some who read this will develop the Pharisaic thought “I’m better than this person, because I’m at a higher stage.” Other than those concerns it was a decent book to read and I did enjoy reading of his football anecdotes especially.

Book Rating: 3 out of 5 stars.

Disclaimer: Ben Umnus was given a free copy of this book by Water Brook Press, but he was neither paid for his review nor was he commanded by Water Brook  Press to write a positive review. This review is the personal, written opinion of Ben Umnus.  This disclaimer is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One thought on “The Walk by Shaun Alexander

    thelittlemaninchina said:
    January 3, 2011 at 10:08 PM

    I like how you dealt with that particular issue—straightforward yet tactful. Also, Nice work on getting the book images on your blog. I’ll have to implement that on my own sometime. I also might need to jazz up my blog in other ways as well sometime, so drop me some pointers now and then.
    elliot

Leave a Reply

