The Purpose of Passion by Kurt Bruner and Jim Ware

Posted on Updated on

by Kurt Bruner and Jim Ware

I wasn’t impressed by this. I don’t mean to sound harsh and all by opening my review this way, but I was expecting something with a little more substance when first glancing over the cover. I’ll admit I have not actually read all of Dante’s Divine Comedy, though after reading this book I was inspired to read the rest of the Divine Comedy’s series of stories, but I did watch the recent cartoon movie of Dante’s Inferno (although the cartoon may not be completely accurate) and this was a book that was decent about describing parts of the Divine Comedy for those who may have not read the entire collection if reading any of them at all. I say decent, because although I wasn’t impressed with The Purpose of Passion I didn’t hate it either as there were some good things for me and hopefully others to have read as well.

The Purpose of Passion is a look into The Divine Comedy by Dante Alighieri in regard to how Dante viewed love and how we must also view love. I liked how Kurt and Jim analyzed Dante’s legendary work based on scripture. I felt they did well with providing scriptural passages as examples of how we ought to be whether single or married. I also appreciate how they analyzed Dante’s personal life, his characters, how to love someone, and morality itself. However, I don’t like it when books refer to the current culture when discussing theology, considering the current culture isn’t exactly the most Biblical anymore. For an example calling Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie a couple of equivalent to legendary romances like Guinevere and Lancelot is not my cup of tea, because it makes me feel like I’m reading an extended magazine article instead of a book. Another problem with this book was though their material certainly had some positives, I felt Kurt and Jim should have expanded on the subject of LOVE as well as Dante’s writings much more thoroughly; they could have written at least another 100 pages in my opinion. Not to mention Purgatory isn’t Biblical and considering Tyndale is a Protestant publishing company, I would have hoped the writers would have at least stated that Purgatory isn’t Biblical but they never did from what I read and almost seemed to support it… Again this isn’t a horrible book I just didn’t love it as much as other books out there.

Book Rating: 2 out of 5 stars.

Disclaimer: Ben Umnus was given a free copy of this book by Tyndale House Publishing, but he was neither paid for his review nor was he commanded by Tyndale House Publishing to write a positive review. This review is the personal, written opinion of Ben Umnus.  This disclaimer is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

