Rob Bell’s wrong about Hell.

Posted on Updated on

*Disclaimer* For the sake of rational discussion I will be using the word “Hell” numerous times. It is only for the sake of reference and not for using as a cuss word. I apologize if you are offended by my use of the word, as my intent is only to talk about that place itself and the theology behind it, because as Christians we need to discuss Hell since its existence is real.  I have no intention to purposely blaspheme against the Lord for it is my hope that those who read this if they are not saved will repent of their sins and swear allegiance to Jesus Christ who is the only hope for any persons’ salvation… Whether you agree with what is discussed or not, please be respectful. Any comments with curse words or comments which either are uncivil  or is for the sole purpose of acting like a troll will be deleted.

Before I get into this very controversial subject I just realized today is the One Year Anniversary of this Word Press blog. For those who have remained loyal despite any disagreements you may have had with some of my writings, thank you for sticking with me. I appreciate it a lot. If you are new to the Christian Perspective I hope you learn/enjoy this discussion and feel free to make a comment and or subscribe. 🙂

I don’t know a lot about Rob Bell, but I am agreeing with his critics when it comes to what Bell thinks about Hell. You may not have heard, but Rob Bell is the unorthodox pastor of Mars Hill in Grand Rapids Michigan, and he launched a controversial video as a precursor to his new book Love Wins. So I saw a YouTube clip, from Wretched TV’s channel, of Rob Bell talking about Hell and I could touch on some of the things he said, though you ought to see the clip for yourselves, but of all the things he said if I could point out something that bugged me the most… it would be the idea Bell suggested which I have simplified into the effect of the following:

“How can a loving God send good people to Hell?”

and basically mocked the idea that someone like Gandhi, even though he appeared to deny Jesus Christ, is capable of being in Hell. As Todd Friel from Wretched TV said in the You tube link I provided, Mr. Bell is basically endorsing the Universalist, New Age movement concept that “Jesus isn’t the only way to salvation” (which Oprah Winfrey once said on her show) and “if you’re good enough and have done enough then you’ll be in Heaven too.” Take it from someone who used to think that I can do lots of good things and please my way into Heaven (see my Christian Testimony), no! No you can’t be good enough to earn a ticket to Heaven! Without Christ, I am just as Hell bound as anybody else who is apart from God, for I have committed many-MANY sins against God; I have no reason to boast about anything good. By saying what he said, he appears to be basically mocking people who feel or appear to feel (in his opinion) that God purposely sends people to Hell, and because of his interpretation he is mocking conventional Protestantism. This is a serious accusation considering some people have become Atheists because of this issue, not to mention there’s the Calvinistic interpretation of Predestination some believe in (I do not believe the Calvinist view), and of course the attitude of such a statement in itself is offensive and misleading. Sure  if God wanted to he could send us all into Hell right now in the blink of an eye, because he has the authority to do such a thing after all he created us and I’m sure when scientists build robots most don’t question if they can destroy their own creation… However, whether one can accurately judge if God literally “sends people” to Hell is irrelevant, because of what we do/say/think. If I could openly respond to Rob Bell himself I would tell him:

“God doesn’t have to send people to Hell, because we condemn ourselves!”

I’m neither dead nor am I God so obviously I don’t know exactly who is in Hell, as well as an exact description of what Hell is like, and I don’t have the authority to condemn anyone. However, what I can say about Hell is that 1) Whoever rejects God is in Hell 2) Whoever rejects God’s son Jesus Christ is in Hell. 3) Our good deeds do not save us from Hell. 4) A person who is in Hell deserves it just as a guilty criminal deserves to be in prison. Like in the video I provided second paragraph, when on trial you don’t get to say to a judge “Yeah I’m guilty of this crime, but I’ve done so much good work for my community, and I try to be nice to all people so what I’ve done outweighs my offense right?” and get away with the crime… No if we did that in the real world, most of us (unless the judge is corrupt) would be convicted and sent to prison anyhow. In regard to Gandhi, no doubt did he do some great things for the Indian people, but according to Bible verses such as Isaiah 64:6 good deeds themselves without God are irrelevant. (by the way, the rag Isaiah speaks of is one which a woman wipes up her period blood… gross I know, but it’s a gruesome point to remember.) What bugs me the most about Rob Bell’s statement is what he is suggesting denies the concepts of Justice and Grace as well he is twisting around the definition of Love. In my opinion, Bell’s simply saying “Hey it doesn’t matter that someone denies the one who created him. As long as someone does what others think is good then that person ought to get into Heaven too.” Sure it matters whether someone knows God or not:

1) As Todd Friel said in the video, how do we know how good we have to be? And what is the standard of that goodness? No one can answer that first question without giving some personal opinion, possibly related to someone else’s deeds… We all have our personal standards of right and wrong, but in reality they do not completely match up with what God wants of us, not to mention our standards change constantly while God’s don’t change. The simplest laws we ought to be obeying is the 10 commandments in addition to the rest of the Bible. We fail to meet those standards, because of our current sinfulness and the sin which our distant ancestors Adam and Eve committed long ago…

2) Such an idea that a person doesn’t need Jesus or God to be considered “good” and “worthy of Heaven” conflicts with various scriptural examples like the passages provided in the previous paragraphs, including what Jesus said in John 14:21. It does matter whether I have sworn allegiance to God let alone it being the correct God. I’m not just talking about the God of the Bible here, there are other religions out there like Islam that say “If you’re following the wrong God you’re in big trouble.” (I’m summarizing) Not to mention in a worldly example, if I suddenly decide to become a Terrorist against the United States do you really think if I did something like stole thousands of dollars or bombed some people for the sake of an opposing country/organization that I’d be treated nicely by the United States Government? “Oh well we don’t like what he did, but because he and his group approve it then that’s ok, I mean he meant well.” ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!!

3) The after life does not function like a democracy! I mean if this “majority rules” mentality were accurate for general morality, then I could rape someone without guilt or consequence if I got enough people to support it. We people do so many horrible things, I don’t even have to provide evidence for that because all one has to do is watch the news or look outside their window depending on where they live! Not to mention if morality were determined by a collective consensus, then Grace wouldn’t exist very often… We people, I know I fit this especially at times, can be so unforgiving! What Jesus did for us by dying an innocent death on the cross, which by the way was voted upon when they chose to release Barabbas, he died for all the bad stuff we do and say and think… Like in our legal system we are not entitled to mercy, again if God really wanted to he could just teleport us all into Hell right now, but God doesn’t do that because of his mercy and love for us. He is giving all of us a chance to seek his son, Jesus Christ who died in our place. We have all sinned against him time after time after time…

Hell, in the most simplest sense which I’m able to comprehend without making any false judgments, is a place where God is not present; the Bible calls it an eternal lake of fire. All those who reject God will finally get their wish if they choose to go to Hell. I say choose, because we have the choice whether to repent of our sinfulness and put our faith and trust into our Lord Jesus Christ (by swearing loyalty and allegiance to him) the Prophesied Savior who delivered us from our wages of sin, or we can reject God and continue live for ourselves for the rest of our lives and when dead reside in a place where God, who gives good and perfect gifts, will not be present. I do not mean to scare anyone with “Turn or Burn” style theology, because that is not my intention today. I simply feel I must confess to whoever reads this that Hell is a real place that shouldn’t be dismissed so easily. Anyone who rejects God and sins against him deserves to be in there, for the sake of Justice. But God who loves his creations, without violating our free will, sent his only son Jesus Christ to die in our place so that undeservedly we are forgiven for those sins, and all that is required is for us to believe in Jesus Christ and live for him. I have written this, because I don’t want anyone to go to Hell, we should never wish or hope that upon anyone no matter what they’ve done, rather for those who commit various misdeeds we ought to hope for their repentance… Rob Bell by denying the grace of Jesus Christ and belittling what Hell is supposed to be, is a wolf who is leading those who listen to him into heresy…

7 thoughts on “Rob Bell’s wrong about Hell.

    thelittlemaninchina said:
    March 6, 2011 at 9:16 AM

    Very interesting…..
    Maybe you’ll comment on the Supreme Court decision with lawyer Margie Phelps of Westboro Baptist Church. I Just heard her on Fox News Sunday with Chris Wallace deny that her church is a cult, that God enjoys killing American soldiers and that Obama is absolutely going to Hell and that he is the Beast of the Revelation.

      Ben Umnus responded:
      March 6, 2011 at 9:52 AM

      Wow… That’s a scary scenario right there, but good to touch on briefly for those still reading this lol.

      First of all, I am not surprised the Westboro Baptists say “we are not a cult”, because I’ve yet to hear of a group when being accused of being a cult actually admit they are one lol. In their case, I do believe they are a cult who do not accurately represent God or the Christian Faith itself. My #1 reason for saying this, is due to the fact they are unappologetically hateful of other people like the soldiers, homosexuals, and others and according to Jesus himself hate is a form of murder. God does not hate people, the only thing the Bible says he hates is Sin itself. If Jesus, who was God in human flesh, hated people then he wouldn’t have shown love to sinners like the prostitutes and tax collectors whom which he spoke. Yet considering this, Jesus though kind to them did not endorse their sin, he told the adulterous woman “go and sin no more”. I do feel, however, if a member of WBC were to say “hey I’ve been wrong about people and about God” and then repent, then of course like anyone else who seeks the real Jesus Christ will be forgiven and saved.

      Secondly, as I stated in my Watson blog entry, many people are judged as the AntiChrist. In my opinion, there is no way a person will know who the AntiChrist is until right before or after the rapture takes place. Though I feel Obama has done and believes certain unbibilcal things I do not think he is the AntiChrist. From what I’ve noticed, those who try to predict “who is the AntiChrist?” or “when will the world end?” tend to make themselves into false prophets. For an example there is a Youtube User named ThirdEaglebooks (I think that’s his name) who tried to predict that world war three would take place November 2010 which would soon lead us to the end, but obviously that never took place lol.

    Palmer said:
    March 15, 2011 at 5:22 AM

    Wow, you’re grammar is awful. Run-on much?

      Ben Umnus responded:
      March 16, 2011 at 8:22 AM

      Lol this is coming from the person who said “you are grammar is awful.” In all seriousness, yeah I understand my writing isn’t perfect, but I hope you at least got the right idea with what I presented in that post 🙂 That’s one of the reasons why I selected it as a “random rant” in fact, sometimes I’m guilty of writing run on sentences when either in deep thought or emotion, but I try my best to avoid spelling things wrong. Thanks for the comment I’ll try to avoid the run on sentences from now on. Thank you for the suggestion I mean that.

    Marty said:
    March 25, 2011 at 8:35 AM

    I wonder if what Rob Bell and others believe is that God’s grace does not end following our own death. What if, grace extends beyond this life? What if we are given yet another chance to “believe” after we die? I wonder if all this arguing, bickering, finger-pointing just breaks God’s heart? I wonder what would happen if we all just stopped asking the question WWJD and asked the more important question “What would Jesus have me to do?” I wonder if that is how, at the end of the day, love wins?

    I wonder….

      thelittlemaninchina said:
      March 25, 2011 at 9:08 AM

      This sounds great….but if I did “what Jesus would have me to do” from Rob Bell’s standpoint, then I’d sit on my hands and do nothing, because in the end, Love Wins anyway.
      If love wins in the end, would Jesus really have said of Judas, “Woe to that man by whom the Son of Man is betrayed! It would have been better for that man if he had not been born” (ESV Matthew 14:21b). That’s a harsh statement against someone who’s supposedly going to end up in heaven eventually (and might I add that it’s a statement made by the God of the universe?)
      If this were a minor issue, then absolutely say, “Why can’t we all just get along?” But this is not minor. People are dying and going to an eternal Hell, and universalists like Rob Bell suggest that we need to worry less about reaching out to others but instead reach in to ourselves and just love. If that’s not a twist from Satan, I don’t know what is.
      For an extended conversation on this (from pre-Rob Bell fiasco days) by a much more studious man than myself, listen to this free audio book by John Piper:
      http://christianaudio.com/jesus-the-only-way-to-god-john-piper?utm_source=christianaudio&utm_campaign=738b6608f9-March_Special_Free_Download&utm_medium=email

      Ben Umnus responded:
      March 25, 2011 at 9:29 AM

      I will agree that the bickering in other stories/articles isn’t good as well as the bickering regarding theology in general. I’ve read some articles where the bickering has been pretty bad and that’s not cool, afterall people are capable of disagreeing without being a jerk about it. And I also agree the most important thing a Christian can do is actually live out the gospel and constantly ask ourselves “what would Jesus do?” Jesus would never approve of hating people, rather we should only hate sin itself and what it does to people.

      However, I refuse to accept the idea that a person doesn’t need God or Jesus in order to receive salvation. If we say a person doesn’t need to believe in Jesus, then what is the point of Evangelising his name let alone even believing in him in the first place if it’s simply about “being a Good person” like Bell and some believe? Wouldn’t this conflict with the 1st Commandment? Jesus said the greatest commandment is to “Love the Lord with all your heart and soul” (Matthew 22:37), yet there are people out there who admitedly hate God and those who believe in him, and well Jesus seems to go against those who reject him in Luke 9:26 and hatred of others also goes against what the Apostle John said in 1 John 2:11. Not to mention such an idea makes Jesus Christ a liar when Jesus said statements like “No man comes to the father but through me” (John 14:6). But hey just because I know this from God’s Word, doesn’t mean I hate those who don’t agree with this truth.

Leave a Reply

