The Discipline of Grace by Dr. Jerry Bridges

Posted on Updated on

by Jerry Bridges

Because I’ve been reading The Practice of Godliness with my Bible Study group, which has been pleasant and informative, I couldn’t resist the opportunity to read this and write a review for it. It took me a time to read this book by Dr. Jerry Bridges, not because of the book’s length, but because there is so much essential information to reflect upon and because I couldn’t process it all at once. There were times when I either took a break or reread the early chapters in order to reflect on this further. As you may have guessed by now, I greatly enjoyed reading this!

The Discipline of Grace fits the NavPress product description of being a book set on Spiritual Growth and Spiritual Formation.  I loved how Dr. Jerry Bridges‘ book repeated each chapter the importance of preaching the gospel to ourselves everyday and to stop being deceived by the “good day, bad day” idea we have for our relationship with Christ. I felt The Discipline of Grace helped me grow spiritually as it focuses on the importance of grace and holiness without being boring and I know others will grow after reading this too.  I honestly had no complains about this book and I also feel Dr. Bridges is an underappreciated author who ought to be considered more often at the bookstore. I don’t say this often, but I recommend you buy this book today!

Book Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

Disclaimer: Ben Umnus was given a free copy of this book by NavPress Publishers, but he was neither paid for his review nor was he commanded by NavPress Publishers to write a positive review. This review is the personal, written opinion of Ben Umnus.  This disclaimer is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

