What If… : A DVD Review

Posted on Updated on

A Pure Flix film

I never saw Kevin Sorbo’s show Hercules, but I remember seeing promos for it on occasion when I was a kid. Obviously, I am also familiar with John Ratzenberger who plays characters like Hamm in the Toy Story movies and Cliff from Cheers. I even remember Kristy Swanson who’s been in movies like The Chase and Big Daddy; not exactly the most biblical roles she has had but I feel she’s a decent actress. After recognizing these actors, receiving an email about this movie being released on DVD, and seeing it was available on Netflix I wanted to watch What if… for myself to see if it was any good.

In What if… Kevin Sorbo is Ben Walker, a successful businessman, who thinks he made all the right choices. After buying an expensive car, he goes out for a drive, but eventually his car breaks down and the airbag hits him on the head. When he wakes up he sees a tow truck driver who says he is an angel from God. The angel reveals Ben’s life could have turned out differently had he kept his promise to return to his old sweet heart Wendy and had he decided to go into the ministry instead. Ben is transported into the alternate reality of being married to Wendy, having two daughters, living next door to the Little White Church (little cheesy, but some churches have that name too), and being the newly inducted Pastor of Little White Church. Obviously, it takes Ben a bit of time to adjust lol and others are a bit confused by his change in attitude.

I found it interesting while googling for information, I saw another review where they said What if… reminded them of the Nicholas Cage movie “The Family Man”. From what I remember of that movie, I agree there are certainly similarities between those two films. I don’t know if Kristy Swanson is a Christian, but I loved her response to her teenage daughter’s complaining about going to church: ‘if you can’t start thanking Jesus for everything he’s given you then maybe you should give somethings back like your cellphone‘ LOL; very funny yet so very true at the same time. Nothing personal against Kevin Sorbo, but he has this bassey voice which makes it difficult for me to understand at times, so during a few of his lines I had to turn up the volume… I appreciated the gospel message presented towards the end of the movie where Ben is talking to a dying man in a hospital bed. I was just thinking about the Laborers of the Vineyard Parable recently prior to that scene and it was well done in presentation. Overall  I didn’t find this to be a horrible movie. I felt it could have been better in some ways, but I do feel those who like movies similar to “The Family Man” will like this film too.

TCP Movie Rating: 3 out of 5 stars.

One thought on “What If… : A DVD Review

    […] John Ratzenberger had a smaller part in the movie What if…? I thought he was great in that movie. In addition to liking his previous performance as well as his […]

Leave a Reply

