‘Twas the Night Before Easter: A VeggieTales DVD review

Posted on Updated on

VeggieTales

With the Resurrection Day season approaching I wanted to see if I could find some films which fit the actual reason for the season. When I heard of the recently released film ‘Twas the Night Before Easter,  remembering how I enjoyed watching Christmas themed films like It’s a Meaningful Life, and since they were nice enough to put it on Netflix (I know I’ve been watching Netflix more lately lol) I knew I had to watch this movie for myself to see if it would be a film I’d show to my future children. Although this wasn’t bad, I was expecting a little more out of this presentation…

‘Twas the Night Before Easter is a story about a dissatisfied reporter named Marlee Meade, who comes across a news story regarding a failing theater. On a passionate whim, she decides to quit her job in the hope of putting on a successful play and revive the Crisper County Theater. Marlee, her assistant, and the theater owner write and organize a play called “Up with Bunnies!” and desire for it to be a wondrously amazing performance. Miss Meade desires to enlist the famous singer Cassie Casaba, played by Melinda Doolittle, in order to attract more people to their play, but Cassie’s already scheduled to sing at an Easter Sunday sunrise service. Maybe I was expecting too much, but my first impression was different than the movie’s actual direction.

I thought ‘Twas the Night Before Easter would be similar to Saint Nicholas where the VeggieTales cast would correct certain misconceptions about Easter. Maybe they did that focus for their An Easter Carol movie, (<–movie review as of 4-14-11) but I have yet to see that film so I don’t know; I plan to watch/review it next week. I felt for the most part they wrote a good story, but the scriptural passage they tried to apply I felt wasn’t applied the best. The scriptural passage they used was Mark 10:45 which is a good passage to remember, but perhaps maybe because they used that verse they should have changed the story a little bit where Cassie willingly performs for the play after overhearing the conversation between Miss. Meade and the Pastor instead… Although they did talk about Jesus and I liked what they had to say, I felt they could have talked about Christ more considering his death and resurrection are the whole point of celebrating this special Holiday. I also wished they would have eventually condemned the “Up With Bunnies!” play by saying ‘bunnies are not what Easter is all about’, because of their condemnation of the Bunny song in Rack, Shack, and Benny. Other than those concerns, I thought their parodies and jokes, including one involving American Idol, were pretty funny. I also liked the silly song The Hopperena by the French Peas lol. Although overall I felt this movie could have been better, I have no doubt this movie was better than unbiblical alternatives like Russell Brand’s Hop.

TCP Movie Rating: 3 out of 5 stars.

4 thoughts on “‘Twas the Night Before Easter: A VeggieTales DVD review

    Ben Umnus responded:
    April 10, 2011 at 9:17 AM

    If you want to know why I do not endorse Hop even though I haven’t seen it, it is because as I said in another entry this Holiday season is NOT about bunnies, it is about Jesus’ death and resurrection. Yes I am aware there are good films that don’t have Jesus specifically involved, I realize there are good movies out there that aren’t religious. However, besides the fact this celebration is specifically meant to comemorate the death and ressurrection of Jesus Christ, movies like Hop are specifically designed by corporations to be decent enough to the point where they psychologically turn on a vacuum cleaner which is meant to suck the money from a parent’s wallet or purse through merchandise like T-Shirts, lunch boxes, toys, and in this case Hop themed Easter items. (you know the eggs, the baskets, egg painting kits that sort of thing lol)

    I just don’t like the idea of a movie being made for the primary purpose of making more money. I realize most movies, I wouldn’t be surprised if a few with the Christian label were included, have making money as one of their goals, but when money making is the #1 reason for the production of a movie like with movies such as Transformers and the Saw movies then well… it is sad to me, because books, movies, and entertainment itself for that matter shouldn’t just be about making a living, it should be about providing a service to people too. Whether it is indeed entertaining someone or if it’s informing someone of something important, that should be a higher priority than making money. I am not against making money, otherwise I’d sure be a hypocrite considering #1 I have a job which pays me money lol and #2 I plan on writing a book soon which I hope will in addition to entertaining/informing people will help me along financially too. Some reading this might argue “Well doesn’t VeggieTales sort do that also? I mean they have an egg painting kit too you know” I’d like to believe their primary focus isn’t money, considering the fact in their movies they try to tie in scripture so they can educate kids about important life lessons like sharing and telling the truth. That and Phil Vischer got upset with NBC when they removed references to God like the VeggieTale Closing Tag Line: “Remember kids, God made you special and He loves you very much” from TV episodes.

    So yeah all that, and I’m just not a fan of Russell Brand. I watched him in Forgetting Sarah Marshal and saw promos for Get him to the Greek, and I didn’t think he was funny. Call it a personal preference I suppose. I just hope he didn’t ruin the original Arthur…

    Bluesky2000 said:
    April 12, 2011 at 3:28 AM

    It seems that the film is amazing~~ I will watch it when I have the chance 🙂

      Ben Umnus responded:
      April 12, 2011 at 11:10 AM

      Yeah all in all it wasn’t a bad movie I liked it for the most part, but I did happen to watch the An Easter Carol movie and I felt that movie had a better Easter message although not as good of graphics due to being older of course lol. Yeah I’d still recommend it for others, I tend to like most of the stuff VeggieTales makes from what I’ve seen thus far. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed my review of it and hope to hear from you again soon.

    […] thought Veggietales movies were not just great but 5 star worthy productions; except maybe that one Easter movie they did last year that was ok… Having that in mind, I like to buy Veggietales movies every […]

Leave a Reply

