Voyage with the Vikings by Paul McCusker and Marieanne Hering

Posted on Updated on

From Adventures in Odyssey
by Paul McCusker and Marianne Hering

I haven’t listened to much of Adventures in Odyssey yet, but I’ve enjoyed what I’ve heard on the radio/television thus far. Based on what I have watched and heard from them, I feel their program is very creative, humorous, and inspirational for all ages; I wish I would have heard about them when I was younger. I thought of their program when I saw this book was available and had the Adventures in Odyssey logo. I realize this is a book meant for mid to late elementary school children, and it brought back memories of the Scholastic book Fair coming to my Public elementary school where I would buy/read a few of their books. Looking back from that time, if I had a book like this when I was a kid I probably would have liked it and learned from it too.

Voyage with the Vikings, is the 1st book out of four within the Imagination Station Book Series. Patrick and his cousin Beth come to Whit’s End (an ice cream shop) to see Mr. Whittaker and he shows the kids a special device called The Imagination Station. The Imagination Station is like a time machine only a bit more complex where it will desire for the user to complete a certain objective without alternating history. In this story, the cousins see there is a mysterious note left for them within the Imagination Station telling them to go find a Viking Sunstone in order to save someone named Albert. With Mr. Whittaker’s permission, they use the Imagination Station to go back to the time of the Vikings where they meet Erik the Red and Leif Ericson (sometimes also spelled Eriksson).

One curious detail was how the book said Leif was a Christian. I wasn’t sure if this idea was accurate or fan fiction, because I never learned this within the public school setting, so I did some brief online research and sure enough Leif and others within the Viking culture were Christians, but there were some Vikings including Erik the Red who detested Christ as being too peaceful and prefer to worship pagan gods like Thor. As for the book itself, I thought it was pretty decent because it had large print, I liked the artwork provided, it was definitely educational, it showed good Christian conduct, and I also enjoyed the story enough where I am curious what happens in the next three books; I might have to review those later. My one complaint about the book, and perhaps they did this because of the reading level, is the story seemed a bit short and fast paced. I wished there was more to have read and the story didn’t progress so quickly, but then again the quick pace prevents someone from skim reading lol. A good story for kids who are starting to get into more active reading.

Book Rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

Disclaimer: Ben Umnus was given a free copy of this book by Tyndale House Publishing, but he was neither paid for his review nor was he commanded by Tyndale House Publishing to write a positive review. This review is the personal, written opinion of Ben Umnus.  This disclaimer is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

