The Unwavering Resolve of Jonathan Edwards By Steven J. Lawson

Posted on Updated on

by Steven J Lawson

Many theological books I’ve read recently have either spoke about Jonathan Edwards or have provided a quotation from him. Honestly, prior to hearing of these references I didn’t know who he was, what he had said, or anything he did let alone him being an American; although technically what was America back then was still under British rule. Because of my ignorance, I wanted to read more about him and thought this would be a great starting book. I wasn’t disappointed by the choice and was inspired by his desire for God…

Now The Unwavering Resolve of Jonathan Edwards isn’t a complete biography, but it is a book which looks at who Jonathan Edwards was as a theologian and author. The introduction and the 1st chapter summarize his historical life for readers like me who may not know who he was within the Puritan culture. The majority of The Unwavering Resolve of Jonathan Edwards, however, is about who Jonathan Edwards was theologically. This was also an examination of some of his diary entries and examinations of some of his resolutions; all of his 70 resolutions are provided in an appendix at the end of the book. Though I don’t know if I agree with everything Edwards thought theologically, most of what I read I felt was quite inspiring. What he must have felt, based on the tone in his writings, was quite deep and passionate; I cannot help but find it uncommonly admirable. To borrow the term from Dr. John Piper, Jonathan Edwards was definitely a Christian Hedonist and he was someone who encouraged others to desire God similarly. I agree with his resolve and hope to God I’ll one day grow a passion like Edwards’, King David’s, and others in similarity. Although this is my first book about Jonathan Edwards, from what I read from Mr. Lawson, I felt this was a very good book.

Book Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

Disclaimer: Ben Umnus was given a free copy of this book by Reformation Trust Publishing, but he was neither paid for his review nor was he commanded by Reformation Trust Publishing to write a positive review. This review is the personal, written opinion of Ben Umnus.  This disclaimer is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

