Living for God’s Glory by Joel R Beeke

Posted on Updated on

by Joel R. Beeke

Prior to reading this book, I had a bit of a negative attitude towards Calvinism; specifically when regarding limited atonement. Since I am the type of person who prefers to not be uninformed about something, unless it gets a bit too complicated lol, I felt it was appropriate to read a book about Calvinism in order to get a better perspective and see if my perception would change at all… After my reading, I can say my perception of Calvinism has partially changed, though certainly not everything. Living for God’s Glory introduces readers to what is Calvinism theologically and historically.

I feel Living for God’s Glory is an apologetic for Calvinism based on the information and tone, and because of that fact it makes it harder for me to review this book since it would be unfair to review it simply based on the theology itself; I try to be professional about my reviews after all. I will say this, despite what Joel Beeke wrote I still don’t believe in limited atonement and still feel it is wrong, but he did make some good points about other Calvinist doctrines and at the very least convinced me to view Calvinism a bit more tolerantly. To quote a friend: “Most Christians believe in bits of both Calvinism and Arminianism.” (I also like what gotquestions.org said about them) Keeping this in mind, I did have two dislikes about Living for God’s Glory outside of the controversial topic of limited atonement: 1) Though this was certainly an educational read, at times Mr. Beeke’s book was dry and boring, especially when talking of history; unfortunately this is coming from someone who likes to read about history. 2) Part of the time, his writing tone seemed a bit arrogant and biased. Other than those complaints, he  and other contributors obviously did their homework (a lot of it) when compiling historical and theological information and I respect them for that much.

Book Rating: 3 out of 5 stars.

Disclaimer: Ben Umnus was given a free copy of this book by Reformation Trust Publishing, but he was neither paid for his review nor was he commanded by Reformation Trust Publishing to write a positive review. This review is the personal, written opinion of Ben Umnus.  This disclaimer is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One thought on “Living for God’s Glory by Joel R Beeke

    thelittlemaninchina said:
    June 20, 2011 at 9:32 AM

    Great honesty in your review. Haven’t read it yet, but I know that I, too, need some education in this matter.

Leave a Reply

