Golf’s Sacred Journey: Seven Days At The Links of Utopia by David L Cook

Posted on Updated on

by David L Cook

Golf is a game I’m not very good at nor do I like watching it on TV necessarily, but I do like playing it anyhow on occasion with my Dad; my late grandfather loved golf and was good at it. I was inspired to read this book, because of a friend on Twitter as well as the new Seven Days in Utopia movie coming to theaters September 2nd, 2011. (whenever it comes out on DVD I shall review that as well.) The movie looked good in the trailer so I wanted to read the book first and see how this would be.

Golf’s Sacred Journey is a story, written by David L. Cook, which concerns a young PGA golfer who is getting frustrated by a spell of poor gameplay. To unwind, he drives around and finds a town called Utopia, Texas. In that small town he meets an older, experienced golfer named Johnny. Johnny knows there is potential in this young golfer and offers to teach him; some of what is taught is more than just simple swinging techniques.

I like the fact this is easy to read due to the amount of pages and the vocabulary used, because I feel most people within their tweens or older should be able to read this book without getting too confused. Though I’d have to reread this and test out some of the stuff Johnny talks about, I can tell by the descriptive language that Mr. Cook has a good share of golfing experience under his belt. I don’t know why, but in some ways this story reminded me of a mixture between Cars and The Karate Kid a little bit, only this story is about golf and has a hint of Christian theology attached to it. Some readers might feel chapter 6 is offensive due to Johnny and his student participating in a gambling game; I wasn’t offended for those curious. In the grand scheme of things, I thought this was a pretty good book. As I first admitted, I’m not the best golfer out there and probably don’t have as much passion for the game as others out there, but I liked it and figure those who like to play golf might like to read this story as well; hope the movie is as good as the book.

Book Rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

