Christmas with a Capital C: A DVD Review

Posted on Updated on

a Pure Flix Film

Christmas is a very special time of year where Christians like me can especially celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ. Unfortunately, there are times when we don’t always have Christ involved enough within the Christmas celebration. Not to mention there are certain people out there who want to rain on our parade, and aren’t as “tolerant” as they preach; sadly seeing the comment page for the movie trailer is enough proof of that. Well Christmas with a Capital C keeps all of those elements in mind.

Christmas with a Capital C is about a small Alaskan town which has a bit of controversy stirred up thanks to a returning resident. Dan Reed is the mayor of Trapper Falls and encounters an old high school associate named Mitch Bright. Mitch not only seeks to run against Dan in the mayoral election, but also puts a legal hold on any Christmas related festivities. Because of Mitch’s legal action, it raises a few questions for Dan’s family and several residents like: “How should a Christian respond to opposition?”, “What is most important when observing Christmas?”, and “What is Christmas really all about?” My wife and I watched this together, since we both love Christmas, and we loved it!

I felt Christmas with a Capital C had unique direction and was much better than I was honestly expecting. I thought at first it was a bit unusual to see the guy who played Jefferson Darcy play Mayor Dan Reed let alone be apart of a Christian film, but he pleasantly surprised me with how good and genuine his performance was.  Daniel Baldwin played a great antagonist too, his character was someone who I disliked and pitied at the same time. The story line was well thought out and had a few unsuspected twists and turns. My wife and I thought Brad Stine, who played Dan’s brother, was hilarious; I agree with his sentiment about “Happy Holidays”. The camera work was really cool and quite crisp, especially when they showed Dan’s son skiing. I felt the message was both realistic and quite necessary to be heard; we need to stop the battle mentality and look at things differently. I do not regret my purchase at all and I encourage others to watch this film as well.

TCP Movie Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

7 thoughts on “Christmas with a Capital C: A DVD Review

    NotAScientist said:
    November 8, 2011 at 11:04 AM

    “My wife and I thought Brad Stine, who played Dan’s brother, was hilarious; I agree with his sentiment about “Happy Holidays”. ”

    Care to share what that sentiment is?

      Ben Umnus responded:
      November 10, 2011 at 10:06 AM

      You’ll have to see the movie, but essentially he said something like: “I find nothing wrong with saying Merry Christmas, because it is the happiest of Holidays”. He makes it sound much funnier though when he starts talking about other Holidays like Pearl Harbor Day lol. Anyway all I’m going to say regarding this particular thought is that I find nothing wrong with telling people “Merry Christmas” and I encourage people of other celebrations to say “Happy Hanukkah” or “Happy Kwanzaa” or whatever else they celebrate; I won’t stop or ‘correct’ them. Now if they don’t celebrate anything, I’m very sorry to hear that, but I’m not going to say “Seasons Greetings” or “Happy Holidays” anymore simply because I have a right to not be ashamed of Christmas just as that person has the right not to celebrate any Holiday you know? 😀

        NotAScientist said:
        November 10, 2011 at 11:05 AM

        I don’t see anything wrong with saying Merry Christmas. Of course, I don’t see anything wrong with saying Happy Holidays or Seasons Greetings either.

        It was always mildly confusing, though. Because it’s YOUR holiday, and you’re wishing someone else (who might or might not share your holiday) to enjoy it. It’s like if it were your birthday, and you went around telling people “Happy Birthday!”. It’s a nice sentiment, but it’s your birthday, not theirs.

        As most people celebrate a holiday around the winter (because people always have, even long before Christianity or Judaism existed), ‘happy holidays’ just seems nicer and more inclusive. It also covers the multiple holidays people celebrate at this time of year…Thanksgiving, Christmas, Hannukah, New Years, Festivus, etc.

        That being said, I think it makes more sense to say ‘happy holidays’, but I don’t care if someone wishes me ‘Merry Christmas’. I have no intention of stopping them from saying what they want, just like I have no intention of stopping a private organization like a store saying Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays or anything else they prefer.

        Ben Umnus responded:
        November 10, 2011 at 1:52 PM

        I see where you’re coming from and I appreciate your feedback.

        I don’t get annoyed necessarily when I hear people say “seasons greetings” or “Happy Holidays” unless they expect me to do it and discourage me from saying “merry Christmas” or if they’re someone who celebrates a holiday like Christmas or Kwanzaa but are too intimidated to express that sentiment. I don’t think of it like “happy birthday”, even though Christmas is supposed to be about celebrating Jesus’ birth, I prefer to think of it as more of a “Good Day to you!” or “God bless you!” where even though they might not recognize Christmas at least you’re wishing them well.

    NotAScientist said:
    November 10, 2011 at 2:06 PM

    “but are too intimidated to express that sentiment.”

    I would only ask you to not assume that just because someone (or some company) says ‘Happy Holidays’ it is because they’ve been intimidated.

      Ben Umnus responded:
      November 10, 2011 at 9:56 PM

      I agree it isn’t right to assume that of all companies/people, I greatly dislike stereotypes. I was merely referring to a few cases I’ve personally ran into where people have expressed to me that they say “happy holidays” or “seasons greetings” solely because they’re nervous/afraid of how others’ll respond to them if they don’t.

    […] and some of those reenactments are questionable for interpretation anyhow. Sure movies like Christmas With a Capital C , Saint Nicholas, A Perfect Gift, and others are great movies made by Christian based groups, […]

Leave a Reply

