Enemies of the Heart by Andy Stanley

Posted on Updated on

by Andy Stanley

It’s interesting that I got this book during the summer and I didn’t get to finish it until this fall. Part of this was poor time management on my part, but when I actually started reading Enemies of the Heart by Andy Stanley, who is the son of one of my favorite preachers: Dr. Charles Stanley, I realized me reading this when I did was more of God’s timing than mine.

Enemies of the Heart is a book which addresses the spiritual heart. We like to look at the physical condition of our hearts in order to avoid problems like heart disease, but Andy Stanley writes, with a strong emphasis, we ought to monitor our spiritual condition too. Do we have any Greedy, Angry, Jealous, and or guilty habits/tendencies? How do they appear in our lives? And how do we deal with each of these traits?

I cannot get into specific details, but I believe God wanted me to read this book at the time I did because he wanted me to realize and treat certain spiritual heart conditions I’ve been guilty of containing within. I believe this book helped me a great deal in becoming more spiritually aware, but like many diet/weight loss books this book is only something beneficial when actually applied. Andy Stanley addressed several important topics which I didn’t expect him to get into like analyzing more specifically why do some men have a problem with Lust. He also provides various passages of scripture as support for our need to examine our hearts carefully; one really good verse is Proverbs 4:23. He even provides solutions, though not easy ones, in regard to our unclean hearts which though tough are not unrealistically optimistic.

Book Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

Disclaimer: Ben Umnus was given a free copy of this book by Waterbrook Multnomah Press, but he was neither paid for his review nor was he commanded by Waterbrook Multnomah Press to write a positive review. This review is the personal, written opinion of Ben Umnus.  This disclaimer is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

