Seven Days in Utopia: a DVD Review

Posted on Updated on

An Arc Entertainment Film

During the Fall of 2011, I read the book Golf’s Sacred Journey:Seven Days At The Links of Utopia by David L. Cook, which this movie is based from, thanks to the reference of a Twitter friend. One reason why I originally wanted to watch this movie, is because of Robert Duvall being a good actor, another being that I like to play golf with my Dad once in a while, but at the same time I liked the story concept too; especially after reading the book. I was finally able to watch the film itself very recently and I wanted to see how similar this was to the original book and how well the presentation was also.

Like the book, Seven Days in Utopia is about an upcoming golfer who had a really bad day. He is frustrated partly due to his performance and partly due to his poor relationship with his father. The golfer angrily goes out for a drive and crashes his truck into a fence. Shortly after he crashes his truck he meets a man named Johnny, played by Robert Duvall, who talks the PGA hopeful into a seven-day training course while the truck is being fixed. During his time staying in Utopia, there are many lessons learned; some which are more valuable than mere golfing tips.

I loved the fact Cook himself was one of the movie’s producers, I could tell his imput was greatly considered for the picture; I hate it when movies are not true to the original book. I also loved the picture quality and seeing the golfing described in the book put into action. I thought Robert Duvall and the other actors did a great job in their performance. I also found it real neat to see some professional golfers in the film like Rickie Fowler, it gave the movie an authentic PGA feel. I only have two complaints about the movie (which might be similar to my critique of the book too): 1) it felt too short and 2) they could have talked a tad bit more about God than they did. In the grand scheme of it all, this is a movie which golf lovers will love to watch and is true to the original book.

Movie Rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

