House: A DVD Review

Posted on Updated on

written and produced by Ted Dekker and Frank Peretti

A while back I had listened to this on an Audiobook CD a time ago and I finally got the chance to watch the movie version recently. Ted Dekker and Frank Peretti cowrote this book and produce this movie as well which I find very interesting especially since many when watching a movie based off the book sometimes say: ‘hmmm I wonder if this’ll be true to the book’?. The movie House is certainly one of those movies which I liked certain things shown in the movie a lot and wished for certain things from the book to have been within the movie.

House, is about a recently married couple who are looking for the right road to Nashville. They are fighting in the car and don’t seem to be acting like a very strong couple for having been recently married… They run into a police officer who terrorizes the husband a bit for speeding, but he’s nice enough to show them a short cut. However, while pursuing this shortcut their car’s tires get slashed by a trap conveniently placed in the middle of the road. They see they are not the only ones who have had this happen and look around for help. In order to escape the recent rainfall they run into an old hotel and stay the night; unaware of the terrors about the take place physically, mentally, and even spiritually…

When it came to listening to the audio book I liked much of the book considering the suspense and the allegories going on within the story I’d probably give the book itself a 4 out of 5 stars. I felt the movie captured much of the book well, and I thought much of the acting was very good especially from Michael Madsen. However, there were some things sacrificed from the original book which I felt should have been in the movie as well. For the sake of not spoiling this for others I won’t get into my thoughts too deeply other than I felt they should have been more specific in the movie of who Susan, the house itself, and the sherif represented… I felt they weren’t specific enough partially in order to try to make the unsaved, horror film crowd happy and that disappoints me a bit. Overall this wasn’t a terrible movie, but I mainly take away two stars because of how they could have been better to the book and simply because I’m not much of a horror film fan.

TCP Movie Rating: 3 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

