Courageous: a DVD Review

Posted on Updated on

A Provident Film

When I have mentioned other Christian based titles to people, they don’t always seem to know what I’m talking about. However, if I mention Courageous as of recent times, most people know what exactly what I’m talking about whether they’ve seen it or not. Because there is such familiarity for this film, the friends of mine who had seen it told me they liked it, and simply because I personally liked Sherwood’s other films I bought a copy of this and desired to watch this with my wife. My wife and I watched this together, because this is a movie about fatherhood and family; both are very important to us.

Courageous is about a group of men who despite their share of problems desire to become better husbands and fathers. Adam Mitchell is a cop who has a good relationship with his wife and does well with his work, but doesn’t have the best relationship with his children. Another police officer has a teenage daughter whom he worries will be dating the wrong guy and doesn’t know yet how to handle the situation. Javier and his wife are struggling financially to provide for their family due to recent loss of employment, but Javier has faith God will provide for their family. And a rookie member of the force has his own emotional baggage caused by a mistake he made prior to becoming saved. Together these men and others strive to make amends for their mistakes, develop a stronger relationship with the Lord, and to simply just become better husbands/fathers in the process.

Like many others who watched this film, I really liked this. At times this would be pretty funny, one example is Javier pretending to be a member of the “Snake Kings” in order to scare a gang member. There was a bit of action to keep the senses thrilled too, this is good because otherwise I would have been a bit disappointed; after all they are cops you know.  Yet as a warning, without spoiling a particular plot line, there are some sad moments within this film too; my wife cried. My one down side is most cops I’ve ever interacted with or have heard about are not like the guys in this film, but I hope that changes. What they promote within the film I cannot help but feel is fantastic. Society seems to encourage men to act like boys and it’s a horribly wrong trend. Grown males need to know how to act like men and to be men, I feel this is a great start on how to address this cultural problem. I have been personally inspired to kick it up a notch by also developing a stronger relationship with the Lord, and I desire to follow what the Resolution says; I have the plaque you can buy framed on my study wall. This was a great film, I recommend this for others, and encourage viewers to take the challenge and take it seriously! I don’t believe this is legalistic, because the primary objective is to simply develop a better relationship with the Lord so you can also have a better relationship with everyone else in your life.

TCP Movie Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Courageous: a DVD Review

    Gman said:
    May 30, 2012 at 2:23 PM

    Compared to the previous movies from the Alabama Church that produces these movies, this was the most well distributed and widely successful of them all. The content I thought spoke to “every man” who is a father. I too feel the film is commendable for the theme of being a good father and husband leader. I watched the movie with my family on Dish Online as a PPV through the internet and we thoroughly enjoyed it. I cried a little which my wife teased me about. I think having movies like this streaming to our home is what makes Dish Online so fantastic, and I put that in our suggestion box at Dish, where I work. I look forward to the next movie that Sherwood films produces.

    […] a real man?”. However, I originally started reading this due to my appreciation for the movie Courageous, and me being curious about what they actually had to say about manhood came later. Then I also […]

Leave a Reply

