Brother White: A DVD Review

Posted on Updated on

A Pure Flix Film

Most of the films I’ve seen starring David A.R. White thus far have been pretty decent; though I can’t say I was a fan of In The Blink of an Eye. While searching online for more Christian based movies to watch/collect, I uncovered this feature film. Despite my lack of knowledge in gospel music, Brother White seemed interesting enough. But one thing which especially made me nostalgic was when I saw one of the actors was the step- mom from Sister Sister; though I probably remember the Mowry sisters much more.

Brother White, is about the White family which lives in California. James White is an Associate Pastor, however this father is one of many Associate Pastors. James doesn’t feel he’s been serving God like he feels he should, and frankly the mega church James works for also kinda wants to get rid of him. There is a church in Atlanta, Georgia which is in desperate need of a new leader  and James White jumps on this opportunity. Reluctantly his family moves with him to Atlanta and they have to go through a few trials. David has to learn how to connect better with both his new congregation and his family, the church itself has financial problems which need resolving immediately, and the local community has scars which need healing too.

In all honesty, I kinda picked this up thinking this would be mediocre but I wanted to try it anyway just in case, and though it’s not the best film it is definitely better than I expected. Brother White touches on some very important themes, some which I didn’t expect them to address. The cast was good but I enjoyed the actor who played Ezee especially, because of the uniqueness of his character. The story was decent, but I felt the church was able to get Bebe Winans a little too easily in the storyline; things just worked out well too quickly in my opinion. When I saw the early scenes of the White Family moving into the new neighborhood, I was actually a bit nervous at first that Brother White would portray black people exaggeratively but I’m relieved to say that I don’t believe the actors’ portrayals were inappropriate. Overall this is a decent film which I do give my recommendation for, especially if you are interested in hearing some gospel singing; the little girl is really good too by the way.

Movie Rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

