The Encounter 2 Paradise Lost: A DVD Review

Posted on Updated on

A Pure Flix Film.

Last year, I watched The Encounter and LOVED it. A couple of months later, I had the blessing of interviewing Bruce Marchiano, the man who played Jesus Christ, and that experience just made me appreciate the project even more. And after sharing it with the people at my church and telling my friends about it, each time I did made me grow quite excited for the impending sequel coming out. A part of me, however, was very nervous wondering “What if the sequel stinks?”, well like Escape I had snuck in a viewing of The Encounter 2 on Netflix before it arrived to my mailbox…

The Encounter 2 takes an international setting, in that this story takes place in Phuket, Thailand; seven years after the terrible Tsunami. Like the first movie, there are a set of characters who have their own emotional baggage and are brought together under one roof to talk to Jesus Christ face to face. A resort owner and his wife, a vengeful DEA Agent, a local woman, and Jesus Christ himself are being held hostage by a drug dealer and his body-guard. Despite this hostile situation, this person who claims to be Jesus Christ remains calm and unafraid; even with guns being threatened on him. What will be said? How will Jesus respond to them? And how will the hostage situation turn out? The Encounter 2 for the most part was as great as the original.

Once Jesus was invited into the room by Bruno (the drug dealer) and Charlie (the bodyguard), the mood seemed to fit similarly to the first; one of the things which really made me appreciate The Encounter in the first place. Everything Jesus said and did was theologically sound, and I especially liked what he had to say in regard to death. The acting overall was very good and this had a great story. The only thing I can say is both an upside and a downside is the action scenes they added to this feature. The upside for the action is that it explains why the DEA agent HATES Bruno, but the downside is that it obviously takes time away from scenes where Jesus Christ is interacting with people. Otherwise this is very good, I give this a strong recommendation, and am looking forward to receiving it in the mail so I can share it with friends.

Movie Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

3 thoughts on “The Encounter 2 Paradise Lost: A DVD Review

    Ben Umnus responded:
    September 25, 2012 at 7:22 PM
    Carol leVan said:
    October 4, 2012 at 11:45 AM

    I watched Encounter 2 last evening with no idea what it was about. What a surprise i was in for. If this movie does not move you, and make you feel the love of God even more, you better watch it again. The peace it gives and the security of knowing God is there for us is wonderful. He is how we get thru our days with all our family and world problems. I am telling my friends about this one….. God Bless , carol leVan

    Mason Goodknight said:
    January 15, 2013 at 11:06 PM

    Honestly I was really bummed by both Encounter movies. I really like PureFlix and enjoy most of their movies. I’m a big fan of David AR White. However, Both Encounters were weak theologically. #2 had some of the worst and most convoluted soteriology I’ve ever seen. I mean seriously. One guy only wants to go to heaven to see his dead son, not because he loves Jesus and is broken about his personal sin debt. I could go on about inconsistencies but I’ll just in short say I was pretty bummed by the theology. The overall movie quality was good as I’ve come to expect from Pure FLix.

Leave a Reply

